Bindl Sales

Kentucky Ag News Headlines
Bevin Makes Appointment to Boards and Commissions
Kentucky Ag Connection - 03/12/2018

Gov. Matt Bevin has made the following appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions:

- Todd Andrew Clark and Brian D. Lacefield have been appointed to the Agriculture Water Quality Authority. Clark, of Lexington, is a farmer. He will represent citizens at-large and serve for a term expiring Oct. 1, 2021; and Lacefield, of Versailles, is the state executive director of the Farm Service Agency. He will represent the United States Farm Service Agency.

The Agriculture Water Quality Authority is a multi-discipline peer group that evaluates, develops and improves best-management practices for conservation, compliance plans, and forest stewardship management plans. The Authority also establishes statewide and regional agriculture water quality plans and otherwise promotes soil and water conservation activities that protect waters of the Commonwealth from the adverse impacts of agriculture operations within Kentucky.

- Katherine Gornik to the Kentucky Work Ready Skills Initiative and Work Ready Skills Advisory Committee. Gornik, of Lexington, is the founder and former president of THIEL Audio. She will represent experience in the private business sector and serve for a term expiring July 13, 2021.

The Kentucky Work Ready Skills Initiative was established to build a highly trained, modernized workforce to meet the needs of employers and promote sustainable incomes for Kentuckians. It is overseen by a board that includes the Secretary of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet, the Secretary of the Labor Cabinet, the chair of the Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board, three employers nominated by the Governor, one member nominated by the speaker of the Kentucky House of Representatives and one member nominated by the president of the Kentucky Senate

- Kyle M. Winslow, Larry Wayne Bailey, Frank Miller Jr. and Laura Leigh Goins have been appointed to the Consumers' Advisory Council. Winslow, of Erlanger, is an associate attorney at Hemmer DeFrank Wessels PLLC. He will serve for a term expiring Sept. 8, 2019; Bailey, of Richmond, is retired. He will serve for a term expiring Sept. 8, 2019; Miller, of Lexington, is a healthcare attorney with Gateway Health. He will serve for a term expiring Sept. 8, 2019; and Goins, of Frankfort, is the vice-president of communications for the Kentucky Retail Federation. She will serve for a term expiring Sept. 8, 2019.

The Consumers' Advisory Council acts as an advisory to consumers on consumer affairs in Kentucky as well as prepares and publishes an annual report on the state of consumer affairs within the Commonwealth.

- Jon Park, Brandon Wilson and Stephen Collins have been appointed as members of the Historic Properties Advisory Commision. Park, of Eminence, is the director of constituent services for the Office of Governor Matt Bevin and will serve for a term expiring Aug. 11, 2020; Wilson, of Russell Springs, is a sales and consulting agent with Southeast Kia in Somerset and will serve for a term expiring Aug. 11, 2020; and Collins, of Shelbyville, is the funeral director of Hall, Taylor Funeral Home and was designated chair of the Commission and will serve for a term expiring Aug. 11, 2020.

The Historic Properties Advisory Commission was established to provide continuing attention to the maintenance, furnishings, and repairs of the Executive Mansion, Old Governor's Mansion and the New State Capitol. It is comprised of 14 members including the State Curator, the Director of the Kentucky Historical Society, the Director of the Executive Mansion and the Director of the Old Governor's Mansion. The First Lady serves as an honorary member of the Commission. The Commission has authority over any construction, repairs, structural restoration, or renovation of these properties. In addition, the Commission supervises the maintenance of a current inventory of all furnishings in these properties. The Commission has final authority over articles placed in the properties and moneys spent on these buildings and they develop criteria for the display of objects, and for the use of the public areas and grounds of the New State Capitol.

- Steve Shannon has been appointed as a member of the Kentucky Commission on Services and Supports for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Other Developmental Disabilities. Shannon, of Lexington, is the executive director of KARP, Inc. He will represent direct service providers and serve for a term expiring July 15, 2019.

The Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor and the General Assembly concerning the needs of persons with intellectual disabilities and other developmental disabilities through developing a statewide strategy to increase access to community-based services and supports for persons with intellectual disabilities and other developmental disabilities.

Send this article to a friend

Other Kentucky Headlines
Easy Way Cattle Care
Grand View Safety Grooving
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.